Yonnus Becker, Photo: Jean Kim

The Sun Beckons To This Venice Local

On a beautiful autumn afternoon, the sun sparkled on the vibrant streets of the Venice thoroughfare, familiar faces wandered about as a feeling of calm permeated the air. The years have seen drifters and ramshackle huts give way to luxury homes and exotic boutiques as the ever-evolving Venice neighborhood has expanded its community, as it has done for decades, with its own unique style. As a Venice resident, I am grateful to be able to hop on my bike, smell the salt in the air and head down to my favorite local Yoga studio, Surya Yoga, owned by Yonnus Becker.

Surya is perched on a corner spot on the well-known roundabout of Windward Circle in the heart of downtown Venice. The atmosphere is different near the water, bustling with creative minds that walk along in speculation as the casual beachgoers carry on. As you approach the Yoga studio you can see why Yonnus Becker, owner of Studio Surya, claimed this spot. When the curtains are drawn it is a noticeably bright open space it feels like a studiothat represents the lifestyle of Yoga.

Surya is the Sanskrit word for Sun; it’s a name this warm and open studio richly deserves as it bathes you with a warm and open feeling.