UPLIFT Teen Mentors on Bridge

UPLIFT Teen Yoga Mentors Photographed by Nicole Moser

UPLIFT Teen Yoga Mentor Kelsey Delane finds strength in herself through yoga. A strength she shares with the community at UPLIFT Yoga. Join her and the rest of the community at the UPLIFT Yoga BASH on September 21.

What brought you to yoga?

I was a freshman at San Diego State when I was invited to my first yoga class at the student rec center by my dear friend. I had been suffering from chronic, severe anxiety and depression since adolescence, and believed I was physically and emotionally weak. When I tried yoga, I was grateful for the opportunity to explore something that was physical so I could build strength in my body and belief in myself.

What keeps you motivated in your practice?

I am my best self when I’m connected to my practice. Knowing that I am best equipped to nurture myself, mother my daughters, love my husband, and show up for my students when I am in a state of yoga keeps me motivated.

What do you learn from being a mentor?

I’m reminded that I’m not alone, and that the experiences I have as a female and as a human being are less unique than I once thought. I am reminded that we don’t have to suffer in isolation; community and connection allow us to work through challenges in our inner world and our circumstances. I am reminded that girls and women are capable of radical things, especially when we surround and support each other!

What do you learn from the other mentors?

I’ve learned something special and priceless from each of my fellow mentors! As a whole, I’ve learned that in order to bring our dreams to life, we truly need the unique blend of talents and experiences that we each bring to the table. Specifically, I’ve learned from my co-mentor, Lena, that having fun and being playful are absolutely necessary! She is always game for an adventure, and it ignites excitement within me that can sometimes be subdued.