Pop Up Yoga Venice community gathers at The Rose Room.

When I was a freshman in college, my parents announced they were selling the house I grew up in and moving 600 miles away. Upon hearing the news, I felt so abandoned; that home was supposed to always be there for me.

I had similar feelings when I heard exhale Center for Sacred Movement in Venice was closing. Sacred Movement was the place where I cultivated my own yoga practice through hours and hours of sweat, laughter, and tears. “Allow your feelings,” Micheline Berry would say in class. “Commit yourself to working towards a higher good,” said Christi Christensen.

So I did, and regularly. I went there, actually more like lived there, for weeks while completing my first teacher training. I went there to grieve and heal when my marriage died, my dog died, my mother died. And I know I was just one of the many yogis who were devoted to the communal healing experiences that happened in that space. Those rooms held an important place in the history of yoga in Los Angeles. Then the doors of the Venice location closed in December 2015. (Exhale as a community still operates studio and spa locations at the Fairmont Hotel in Santa Monica and the Loews Hotel in Hollywood)

Pop Up Yoga Venice

Fast forward to the first week of this New Year: I’m practicing in a spacious event venue called The Rose Room. (Where if the teacher says look at the sky, you actually can, through multiple skylights.) Christi and Micheline are teaching together seamlessly, accompanied by Joey Lugassy and DJ Sol Rising. And I am again sweating, dancing, laughing, and crying.